All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock












Hello World: The Motown Solo Collection

Hello World: The Motown Solo Collection

(Special Packaging)
Share Twitter
Price: €23.08

Product Notes

Donny Osmond went solo while staying in the Osmonds family group, Michael went solo as well, and was given material that made him sound more mature. "Got to Be There," his first solo hit, featured a stunning, declamatory phrase that provided the name of this collection. The LP GOT TO BE THERE, released in January 1972, was followed by BEN, after the No. 1 hit title song from a film about a pet rat. BEN was first issued with a cover featuring lurid artwork from the film, which was quickly replaced by a simpler image of MJ; our package reproduces both covers in the 48-page booklet. MUSIC AND ME was next, featuring a few Adult Contemporary covers, followed by FOREVER, MICHAEL, which had a harder dance age; it included the now-classic hits "Were Almost There" and "Just a Little Bit of You." Although MJ and the J5 left Motown in 1975 to go to Epic Records, that wasn't the end of the story."One Day in Your Life," released in the aftermath of MJs solo OFF THE WALL, turned into a No. 1 hit in the U.K. and top 40 AC in the U.S. Following the crazy ride of THRILLER, Motown released FAREWELL MY SUMMER LOVE, a batch of songs from the vault with contemporary overdubs; the title song went top 10 R&B. There's more: In 1986 Motown issued LOOKING BACK TO YESTERDAY, a collection of more vault masters some with the J5 that containted further unexpected gems. HELLO WORLD has all of that and these extra gems: all nine songs from FAREWELL MY SUMMER LOVE are included in their original, undubbed mixes. Plus, we unearthed the original mix of "Twenty-Five Miles" - Michaels cover of the Edwin Starr hit that has previously been available only in a 1987 vault collection. It's all in a splendid, hard-backed 8x 5.5 package with an introductory essay by Motown's Suzee Ikeda, a main essay by Mark Anthony Neal, pages of annotations, rare photos and repros of the LP jackets. It's deserving of the one of the greatest performers the world has ever known, at any age.


Artist: Michael Jackson
Title: Hello World: The Motown Solo Collection
Genre: Pop
Attributes: Special Packaging
Release Date: 21/07/2009
Label: Hip-O Select
Number of Discs: 3
Media Format: CD
UPC: 602517924697
We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details